Student Grants

The Cornwall Conservation Trust’s mission is to help preserve Cornwall’s unique rural and agricultural character. It does this through either acquiring land or promoting the use of easements on private land to protect areas of special natural resources, habitats, or views from development. We recognize our success depends upon an educated and aware public. It is the strength of this partnership will ultimately determine Cornwall’s future landscape.

In an effort to promote education in areas of study that match this mission, the Cornwall Conservation Trust is offering student grants. The recipients of the grants will be chosen from graduating high school students or students who are enrolled in college who are residents of Region One. Preference will be given to Cornwall residents. The grants will be paid on receipt of evidence that the students are enrolled at and attending college.

Students applying for the grants should show more than average concern for the environment. They will be asked to list any farm, forestry or FFA activities, environmental/ecological, botanical and biological studies or activities.

Copies of the application form are available to students from HRVHS guidance office or by writing to CCT, PO BOX 74, WEST CORNWALL, CT, 06796. Completed forms must be returned by May 1, 2020. Select applicants will be interviewed and the awards announced by mid June.

Download the form here.

If you have any questions please call 860-248-3255 or e-mail us at

2020 Student Grants Awarded

The Cornwall Conservation Trust is pleased to announce that eleven scholarships have been awarded from the 2020 Student Grant Program. Nine of the students are previous recipients. Preference is given to Cornwall students and this year we had three students from our home town; Olive Cowan, Ian Danforth Gold, and Ella Hampson. Additional awards were granted to Marie Cullerton, Alexa O’Connor, and Maddie Simonds of North Canaan; Maggie Mae Baldwin, Brooke Dodge, and Valerie Lenis of Falls Village, Jack Scarpa of Salisbury; and Elias Hill of Sharon.